Live tenders / Durham County Council
Durham County Council - Appointment of an Independent Person to the Pension Fund
What the buyer is asking for
Durham County Council Pension Fund is seeking an experienced Independent Person. The role carries no delegated authority and does not affect statutory responsibilities. The Independent Person will provide independent expertise, scrutiny and challenge to support effective governance, oversight and decision-making. We are looking for a highly credible pensions professional with significant experience in pension fund governance, investment, funding and administration. This can either be a sole trader or an Organisation. Services will include review of investment, funding, governance and administration arrangements; scrutiny of advice, performance, risk, responsible investment and pooling; assurance on controls, conflicts, data, cyber resilience and continuity; attendance at Committee meetings; and support for agreed member development. Regulated investment advice is excluded. The successful supplier will play a key role in supporting good governance, effective decision-making and regulatory compliance across one of the largest LGPS funds in England and Wales. This is an exciting opportunity to influence strategic decision-making and contribute to the long-term success of the Fund on behalf of its Scheme members and Scheme employers. The core service includes attendance at five meetings in each annual cycle: four Pension Fund Committee meetings and one annual meeting
- Value
- £170,000
- Submission deadline
- 27 Nov 2026, 10:00 GMT (20 days left)
- Enquiry deadline
- 20 Nov 2026, 10:00 GMT
- Award decision expected by
- Not stated
- Contract start
- Not stated
- Contract end
- Not stated
- Category
- services
- Lots
- 1
- Procedure
- Below threshold - open competition
- CPV codes
- 66520000
- Legal basis
- 2023/54
How contested is this?
Buyers publish how many bids they received. Across 32 comparable procurements we can tell you the typical field size, how often one of these goes uncontested, and whether the buyer awards on price or on quality.
Timeline
3 published dates · Europe/London
- Tender notice published8 days ago29 Oct 2026, 15:30 GMT
- Clarification questions byin 14 days20 Nov 2026, 10:00 GMT
- Submission deadlinein 21 days27 Nov 2026, 10:00 GMT
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published
Documents
How to bid
www.open-uk.org using OPEN-PR-28102026131816448
Submission happens on the buyer's own portal, which needs an account with them. We never handle your portal credentials.