Live tenders / DIAMOND LIGHT SOURCE LIMITED
DLSITT1097 - Main Septum Magnets for Diamond-II
What the buyer is asking for
Located on the Harwell Science & Innovation Campus in Oxfordshire, Diamond Light Source (DLS) is a leading-edge facility for science, engineering and innovation. DLS allows researchers from academia and industry to investigate the structure and behaviour of the world around us at the atomic and molecular level. To continue delivering the world-changing science that Diamond enables, the facility is being upgraded to Diamond-II, a co-ordinated programme of development that combines a major machine upgrade with new instruments and complementary improvements to optics, detectors, sample environment and delivery capabilities, and computing, as well as integrated and correlative methods. This will be transformative in speed and spatial resolution and will offer users streamlined access to enhanced instruments for life and physical sciences. The scope of this contract is to carry out the detailed design, manufacture, quality control, testing and delivery of two out-of-vacuum main DC/PM septum magnets, with integrated vacuum vessels, on support stands, as well as some spares. The two septum magnets are physically identical but will be installed with input and output ends inverted for booster extraction bend to the left, and storage ring injection bend to the right. This means that the magnet fields are also inverted, and also that the support frame should be rotationally symmetric so that the services connections are on the outside (bending channel side of the support frame) in each case. See specification for further details.
How this is scored
Published by the buyer. A winning response is written to these weightings, not to the question.
- 30%qualityTechnical Quality
- 15%qualityExperience and Capacity
- 10%qualityDelivery
- 5%qualityCommercial
- 40%pricePrice
- Value
- £400,000
- Submission deadline
- 28 Oct 2026, 12:00 GMT (29 days left)
- Enquiry deadline
- Not stated
- Award decision expected by
- 02 Nov 2026, 23:59 GMT
- Contract start
- Not stated
- Contract end
- Not stated
- Category
- goods
- Lots
- 1
- Procedure
- Open procedure
- CPV codes
- 31630000
- Legal basis
- 2023/54
How contested is this?
Buyers publish how many bids they received. Across 41 comparable procurements we can tell you the typical field size, how often one of these goes uncontested, and whether the buyer awards on price or on quality.
Timeline
3 published dates · Europe/London
- Tender notice publishedyesterday28 Sept 2026, 09:12 BST
- Submission deadlinein 29 days28 Oct 2026, 12:00 GMT
- Award decision expected byin 35 days2 Nov 2026, 23:59 GMT
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published
Documents
How to bid
Please email tender submission to: https://diamondtenders@diamond.ac.uk and send a hard copy to Diamond Procurement Diamond House Diamond Light Source Ltd Harwell Science and Innovation Campus Didcot Oxon OX11 0DE UK
Submission happens on the buyer's own portal, which needs an account with them. We never handle your portal credentials.