Live tenders / Newcastle City Council
Direct Payment Support Service
What the buyer is asking for
Newcastle City Council is seeking to appoint an organisation to provide a Direct Payment Support Service to adults, children and carers who use, or are considering using, direct payments to purchase or arrange services. Direct payments can be used to purchase care and support service to meet the care and support needs of the person and carer. Direct payments do involve additional complexity and responsibility for the service user and therefore many need some support and/or advice. The Direct Payment Support Service Newcastle City Council are procuring will: -Information and Advice Explain the benefits and responsibilities of direct payments to Service Users Assist with budgeting and expenditure decisions Provide information about the range of services that provide payroll, insurance and pensions and signpost direct payment users. -Employment Support Provide advice on becoming an employer Support payroll, tax, insurance and pensions Supply employment templates Assist recruitment and selection of Personal Assistants Operate a matching service where appropriate Assist with all aspects of pension auto-enrolment Promote safer employment by encouraging and facilitating the completion of enhanced DBS -Safeguarding and Compliance Promote safe recruitment Support DBS applications Attend safeguarding meetings when required Report and escalate risks to vulnerable adults, children and public funds. -Workforce Development Advise on training for Direct Payment users and Personal Assistants Promote professional development and competency frameworks -Other requirements Provide advice and practical assistance on request to social care professionals when needed Have a permanent base within Newcastle Expected usage: 487 adults are currently receiving a direct payment in Newcastle In the financial year 25/26 there were 315 people who used the service This notice is for information only. At this stage, no further details are available beyond what is published here. When this opportunity progresses, a Tender Notice will be published on the Central Digital Platform along with any relevant notices such as engagement.
- Value
- £661,917
- Submission deadline
- 15 Dec 2026 (69 days left)
- Enquiry deadline
- Not stated
- Award decision expected by
- 10 Jan 2027, 23:59 GMT
- Contract start
- Not stated
- Contract end
- Not stated
- Category
- services
- Lots
- 1
- Procedure
- Open procedure
- CPV codes
- 85000000
- Legal basis
- 2023/54
How contested is this?
Buyers publish how many bids they received. Across 193 comparable procurements we can tell you the typical field size, how often one of these goes uncontested, and whether the buyer awards on price or on quality.
Timeline
3 published dates · Europe/London
- Tender notice publishedyesterday5 Oct 2026, 14:17 BST
- Submission deadlinein 70 days15 Dec 2026, 00:00 GMT
- Award decision expected byin 97 days10 Jan 2027, 23:59 GMT
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published
Notice history
2 events · 2 releases on Find a Tender
- Pipeline or early engagement notice5 Oct 2026, 14:06 BST093858-2026
- Pipeline or early engagement notice5 Oct 2026, 14:17 BST093865-2026
How to bid
https://www.open-uk.org/
Submission happens on the buyer's own portal, which needs an account with them. We never handle your portal credentials.