Live tenders / Nottingham City Council
CPU7109 - Alternative Provision (Education) Services Open Framework
What the buyer is asking for
Once this Tender Notice is published, Tender documents can be obtained from the East Midlands Procurement Portal at https://www.eastmidstenders.org/ by searching for CPU7109. This Open Framework is for the provision of Alternative Provision (Education) Services. Nottingham City Council is seeking Tenders from sufficiently experienced and qualified providers to establish a multi-Lot, multi-Supplier Open Framework of independent Alternative Education Provision Suppliers in compliance with the Act. This Procurement consists of Lots as detailed below: Lot 1 - SEND & Specialist Education Lot 2 - Crisis & Stabilisation Lot 3 - Core Education, Post-16 & Long-Term AP The Authority is seeking to put in place an Open Framework to establish the initial Framework and appoint one or more Framework Members to deliver services. This Procurement is intended to set up a list of approved Framework Members. There is no limit to the number of Suppliers who can be Framework Members. Contract Award Procedures will then be conducted, and Call-off contracts will then be awarded. The Open Framework Mechanism allows the Authority to 're-open' the Framework to new Framework Members, while allow existing Framework members to also remain as Framework Members. The Authority reserves the right to re-open the Framework to new potential Framework Members when it deems it is required to ensure: • Procurement legislation is complied with. • Capacity requirements can be met. • To ensure adequate competition in the Call-off Award Procedure. • To meet needs that are not satisfied by current Framework Members. • Increased area to serve due to Local Government Re-organisation. • Other reasons deemed reasonable by the Authority. The Authority will post a Tender Notice on Find Tender Service/CDP when it re-opens the Framework for new Tender submissions. As this Procurement is for a 'Light Touch Contract', the process and award of Call-off contracts may include some flexibilities permitted by this Special Regime of the Procurement Act (2023) and the Schools exemptions. The Framework will consist of Independent Schools (privately funded, including public schools) and Independent Providers. Publicly Owned/Funded Schools (inc LA maintained schools, faith schools, grammar schools, state boarding schools, voluntary schools), Academy Trusts and Free Schools do not need to register or apply to be on this framework as awards to these organisations are exempt under the Procurement Act 2023. This is a light touch special regime contract as per Sections 8 and 9 of the Procurement Act 2023. The process to be used will be the Open Procedure as per Section 20 of the Procurement Act 2023. Users of the Framework There will be numerous users of the Framework (Framework User) that will be able to award Call-off Contracts via this Framework. The main Framework User is anticipated to be Raleigh Educational Trust (PPON) is PHWL-2499-QDND. Other Framework Users will fall into the following categories if they are in the Nottingham City Council authority boundary area: • Publicly Owned/Funded Schools (inc LA maintained schools, faith schools, grammar schools, state boarding schools, voluntary schools) • Pupil Referral Unit (RET) • Academies / Multi Academy Trusts • Free Schools TUPE The initial tendering of this Procurement does not give rise to the Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) 2006 Regulations, as no existing services are being transferred. Where existing services are reviewed and put out as a Call-off Award Procedure opportunity then TUPE may be considered in each relevant case. Consideration of SME's SME's have been considered as below: • Advanced notice promoted via Pipeline Notice. • PME Process • Requirement split via Lots. • Longer than required bid time provided. • No insurance required at Framework stage. • Low liability cap amounts. • Framework can be re-opened for new SME's/Suppliers Framework Term The first framework for a term of up to three years starting from 14 April 2027 to 13 April 2030 and a second framework for a term of up to a further five years from 14 April 2030 to 13 April 2035. The actual Framework dates and number of Frameworks are indicative only, but the total Term is of all Frameworks added together is a maximum of eight years. In the event that only one supplier is appointed to any individual Framework in the scheme of Frameworks during the open Framework Period then the maximum term for the Framework, and the open Framework, will be 4 years from the date on which the single supplier Framework is awarded. PME Pre-market Engagement has been undertaken and Notice was published on the CDP on the 25 March 2026, notice reference2026/S 000-027146. Tender Modifications The Authority reserves the right to: • Refine/modify the Procurement process and/or terms • Refine the Pass / Fall Criteria • 'Roll' the Procurement back to an appropriate previous stage. • Refine the Specification • Refine the Framework Agreement LGR Local Government Reorganisation (LGR) is the process in which the structure and responsibilities of local authorities are reconfigured. The Government has set out plans to move away from the current two-tier system of county and district councils which are in place in some parts of county of Nottinghamshire and other parts of England. The Authority has now received the Government's proposed decision regarding LGR in Nottinghamshire and it will extend the boundary area for Nottingham City Council's successor organisation. There is some uncertainty over the exact timing of when the new structure will be implemented but the latest information is that the Authority will remain in their current format until at least April 2028. The period of all Contracts, Frameworks and Call-off Contracts under this Procurement is likely to be impacted by LGR. The current intention is that this Contract / Framework / Call-off Contract would continue following any new implemented structure. As a consequence of LGR, any resulting Contract, Framework Agreement or Call Off Contract may be required to be transferred, assigned or novated (in whole or in part) to one or more successor authorities or other public bodies established as part of LGR, in accordance with applicable legislation. Suppliers acknowledge and accept that the Authority must comply with all statutory, regulatory and other legal requirements arising in connection with LGR and, to the extent necessary to do so, reserves the right to make such amendments to the procurement arrangements and/or any resulting Contract, Framework Agreement or Call Off Contract as are required or permitted by law. Suppliers must submit their Tender on the basis that such transfer, assignment, novation or amendment may occur and that no additional charges, price adjustments or termination rights shall arise solely as a result of LGR. Any reasonable steps taken by the Authority or a successor authority to notify Suppliers of matters arising from LGR shall be sufficient for the purposes of this procurement. Following the identification of the above known risks, the Authority reserves the right to modify the Agreement/Call-off Contract and scope during the term of the Framework in accordance with Schedule 8, Paragraphs 1, 5 and 8 of the Procurement Act 2023. Clarifications/Questions/Inquiries All questions/clarifications must be submitted via the Portal (more details below). Do not expect emails/calls to be responded to. All Suppliers should access the 'Messages' section of the e-procurement system (The Portal) on a regular basis to check for any clarifications issued on this project and/or any public exchange of information between interested parties, before final submission of their bid. It is the sole responsibility of Suppliers to do so. East Midlands Procurement Portal (the Portal) Once this Tender Notice is published, Tender documents can be obtained from the East Midlands Procurement Portal at https://www.eastmidstenders.org/ by se
How this is scored
Published by the buyer. A winning response is written to these weightings, not to the question.
- qualityQualityQuality demonstrated by pass/fail rating. No score awarded.
3 lots
You can usually bid for one lot without bidding for all of them.
- Lot 1 - SEND & Specialist Education£178m
Lot 1 - SEND & Specialist Education ▸ Provision aligned to Education, Health and Care Plan (EHCP) outcomes or specialist support for unmet, complex and multi-layered needs ▸ Collaborative working with education, health and care professionals ▸ Robust multi-agency communication and co-production with families ▸ Written Placement Plan with EHCP or unmet need outcome alignment within 10 working days, where necessary
- Lot 2 - Crisis & Stabilisation£178m
Rapid response - provision commencing within 10 working days of referral ▸ Intensive, stabilising intervention for children whose placement at mainstream school is at imminent risk or they are unable to engage with their current offer ▸ Year 11 at risk of not completing education and becoming Not in Education Employment or Training (NEET) ▸ Written Placement Plan including onward pathway within 10 working days ▸ Trauma-informed, relational approaches at the core of delivery
- Lot 3 - Core Education, Post-16 & Long-Term AP£178m
▸ Full-time or agreed part-time education programme with curriculum alignment to home school ▸ Access to accredited qualifications appropriate to age and ability ▸ Active support for progression to education, employment or training ▸ Written Placement Plan reviewed termly with family involvement at each stage
- Value
- £178,000,000
- Submission deadline
- 16 Oct 2026, 10:00 BST (24 days left)
- Enquiry deadline
- 25 Sept 2026, 12:00 BST
- Award decision expected by
- 17 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
- Contract start
- Not stated
- Contract end
- Not stated
- Category
- services
- Lots
- 3
- Procedure
- Open procedure
- CPV codes
- 80000000, 85000000
- Legal basis
- 2023/54
Timeline
4 published dates · Europe/London
- Tender notice published40 days ago12 Aug 2026, 14:30 BST
- Clarification questions byin 4 days25 Sept 2026, 12:00 BST
- Submission deadlinein 24 days16 Oct 2026, 10:00 BST
- Award decision expected byin 87 days17 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published
Notice history
4 events · 4 releases on Find a Tender
- Pipeline or early engagement notice6 Feb 2026, 12:24 GMT010908-2026
- Pipeline or early engagement notice25 Mar 2026, 09:41 GMT027146-2026
- Pipeline or early engagement notice20 Apr 2026, 09:42 BST035449-2026
- Tender notice12 Aug 2026, 14:30 BST076832-2026
Documents
How to bid
Submission must be made via the portal at https://www.eastmidstenders.org
Submission happens on the buyer's own portal, which needs an account with them. We never handle your portal credentials.