Byker District Heat Network
What the buyer is asking for
Karbon Homes invites tenders for the design, build, finance, operation and maintenance of the decarbonised Byker District Heat Network in Newcastle upon Tyne. The Byker estate is Grade II* listed, covers around 80 hectares and is live and occupied throughout. There are 1,985 connections, being 1,815 Karbon Homes connections and 170 freeholder and non-domestic connections presently supplied by Newcastle City Council, of which 1,978 are residential and 7 are non residential. The network is served by the Walker Road energy centre and twelve substations. A preliminary market engagement notice for this procurement, reference 2026/S 000-060054, was published on 25 June 2026. The description of the scheme in that notice has been superseded and tenderers should refer to the information contained within this tender pack. All documents relating to this tender are available to download from the Panacea e-Sourcing portal. Submission Instructions: Electronically via the e-Sourcing portal. Suppliers must submit one copy of their tender electronically, with any additional documents required or requested. Documents must be compatible with Microsoft Office or Adobe/PDF. Should you require technical support with the e-Sourcing portal please email them directly at: • Email: support@panacea-software.com • Phone: 0207 976 0116 Tenders must be submitted using the above e-Sourcing portal. Tenders submitted via postal, or email methods will not be accepted.
How this is scored
Published by the buyer. A winning response is written to these weightings, not to the question.
- 8%qualityDevelopment to contract close, consents and heritage
- 12%qualityDelivery in a live, occupied, listed estate
- 12%qualityGeneration, storage, network and capacity for growth
- 10%qualityOperation, maintenance, lifecycle and handback
- 8%qualityCustomers, vulnerability and regulatory compliance
- 10%qualitySocial Value
- 4%costF1 Hurdle equity internal rate of return
- 6%costF2 Financial model
- 16%costF3 Tariff and landlord contribution
- 5%costF4 Pre-construction services contribution
- 5%costF5 Delivery stage funding
- 4%costF6 Grant drawdown and defrayal
- Buyer
- Karbon Homes
- Value
- £145,000,000
- Submission deadline
- 20 Nov 2026, 12:00 GMT (13 days left)
- Enquiry deadline
- 11 Nov 2026, 17:00 GMT
- Award decision expected by
- 11 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
- Contract start
- Not stated
- Contract end
- Not stated
- Category
- services
- Lots
- 1
- Procedure
- Competitive flexible procedure
- CPV codes
- 71334000, 71321200, 09323000
- Legal basis
- 2023/54
How contested is this?
Buyers publish how many bids they received. Across 52 comparable procurements we can tell you the typical field size, how often one of these goes uncontested, and whether the buyer awards on price or on quality.
Timeline
4 published dates · Europe/London
- Tender notice published18 days ago19 Oct 2026, 20:10 BST
- Clarification questions byin 5 days11 Nov 2026, 17:00 GMT
- Submission deadlinein 14 days20 Nov 2026, 12:00 GMT
- Award decision expected byin 35 days11 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published
Notice history
2 events · 2 releases on Find a Tender
- Pipeline or early engagement notice25 Jun 2026, 18:28 BST060054-2026
- Tender notice19 Oct 2026, 20:10 BST098720-2026
Documents
How to bid
https://app.panacea-software.com/KarbonHomes/eRFX-Suppliers/OpenReq.aspx?requirementId=ec95238b-bb91-42f1-98f2-c48da1a04291
Submission happens on the buyer's own portal, which needs an account with them. We never handle your portal credentials.