Live tenders / Durham County Council
003550 - Flagship Festival 2027
What the buyer is asking for
Durham County Council is seeking an experienced and innovative delivery partner to develop and deliver a new flagship cultural event for County Durham. The Council is looking for a bold, ambitious and distinctive proposition that represents a step change from traditional festival models and has the potential to become a recurring, nationally recognised event. The successful proposal should be original, participatory and rooted in County Durham's unique identity, bringing together culture, creativity, innovation, technology and community engagement. The event should create a defining cultural moment for the county, enhancing its reputation as a place of creativity and excellence, while delivering lasting cultural, social and economic benefits. Proposals must demonstrate strong opportunities for participation, skills development and talent progression, particularly for children and young people, ensuring local communities play an active role in shaping and delivering the event.
How this is scored
Published by the buyer. A winning response is written to these weightings, not to the question.
- 60%qualityFinal Proposal
- 30%pricePrice
- 10%qualitySocial Value
- Value
- £1,500,000
- Submission deadline
- 08 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST (16 days left)
- Enquiry deadline
- 07 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
- Award decision expected by
- 18 Jan 2027, 23:59 GMT
- Contract start
- Not stated
- Contract end
- Not stated
- Category
- services
- Lots
- 1
- Procedure
- Competitive flexible procedure
- CPV codes
- 79950000
- Legal basis
- 2023/54
How contested is this?
Buyers publish how many bids they received. Across 102 comparable procurements we can tell you the typical field size, how often one of these goes uncontested, and whether the buyer awards on price or on quality.
Timeline
4 published dates · Europe/London
- Tender notice published12 days ago9 Sept 2026, 14:48 BST
- Clarification questions byin 15 days7 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
- Submission deadlinein 16 days8 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
- Award decision expected byin 119 days18 Jan 2027, 23:59 GMT
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published
Documents
How to bid
The documents must be downloaded from www.open-uk.org using the reference 20261993. These will be available from 9th September 2026. Any questions must be raised though this Open system for a response
Submission happens on the buyer's own portal, which needs an account with them. We never handle your portal credentials.